Who Are We?

Where there is love there is life
— Mohandas K. Gandhi
Artist's Rendering of Hospice of Santa Barbara, Inc.

Hospice of Santa Barbara is able to provide services because of its dedicated and skilled staff, volunteers, and board members. 


David Selberg, Chief Executive Officer

Cheryl Bench, MFT, PhD, Counselor

Auralee Bunch, Administrative  Assistant

Charles Caldwell, Director of Strategic Advancement

Michael Cruse, LCSW,  Program Manager: Children & Family Services

Romi Cumes, MFTI, Counselor

Zoe Echternacht, Development & Communications Coordinator

Raul Eulogio, Data Analyst

Marilyn Goldman, MFT, Counselor

Judy Goodbody, Planned Giving Officer

Nelson Hayashida, PhD, BCC, Spiritual Care Counselor

Caricia Hernandez, Front Desk/Office Coordinator

Samantha Lockett, Director of Human Resources 

Perie Longo, PhD, MFT, Counselor

Amy Lopez, Social Work Care Manager

Pattie Lorusso, Executive Assistant

Amara Maliszewski, MSW, Community Intake Coordinator

Jeff Martinez, Director of Finance

Michele Mazzolini-Osborne, Administrative Assistant

Caricia Hernandez, Office Coordinator

Virginia Moreno, MFT, Bilingual Counselor

Eliana Preciado, MFTI, Bilingual Counselor

Cheryll Puyot, Development & Marketing Coordinator

Ginny Reis, MFT, Care Manager

Suzanne Retzinger, MFT, Counselor

Flannery Rogers, MSW, Social Work Care Manager

Nicole Romasanta, Director of Volunteer Services

Melissa Axell, MFTI, Counselor

Tianna Swede, MSW, Lead Social Worker/Community Liaison

Sally Turvey, Volunteer Services Assistant

Alejandro Vasquez, MFTI, Bilingual Counselor

Sharon Vineall, LCSW, Counselor

Mary Wagner, MFT, Counselor


Board of Directors

Eric Bowers

Lori A. Lewis, Esq. 

Mike McGrew 

David Nordahl

Ernesto Paredes 

Steven Sharpe 

Cynthia Stoddard

Marilee Zdenek 

Eric Trautwein, MD


Santa Barbara Hospice Foundation

Bruce McRoy, Esq., Chair

Donna Dawson, CPA

L. Andrew Gifford 

Mark Levine 

Gamble Parks, Esq.

Meriann Plamondon  

Tyler Powell 

Mike Stein 


Advisory Council

Susan Adams

Bill Cirone

Rabbi Arthur Gross-Schaeffer

Joy Margolis, Esq.

Catherine Remak

Kenneth Slaught

Linda Seltzer Yawitz


Board Emeritus

Margaret Barnes

Leigh Block, Deceased

Harvey Bottlesen

J. Thomas Fly

Harold Hicks, Deceased

Gerd Jordano

Jill Nida

Peter Stalker, II

Kenny Slaught

Charles Zimmer



Outstanding Program Achievement Award from the California Hospice and Palliative Care Association.

Senior Planning Services Caregiver Champion of The Year, 2011

Santa Barbara Neighborhood Clinics Health Care Hero Award